Reports Tool + open

Board of Directors

Board of Directors

Executive directors

1. Nicholas J Holland (51)
Chief Executive Officer
BCom, BAcc, University of the Witwatersrand; CA(SA)

Mr Holland has been an executive director of Gold Fields since 14 April 1998 and became Chief Executive Officer on 1 May 2008. Prior to that he was the company’s Chief Financial Officer. Mr Holland has 29 years’ experience in financial management, of which 21 years were in the mining industry. Prior to joining Gold Fields he was Financial Director and Senior Manager of Corporate Finance at Gencor. He is also an alternate director of the Rand Refinery.

2. Paul A Schmidt (43)
Chief Financial Officer
BCom, University of the Witwatersrand; BCompt (Hons), Unisa; CA(SA)

Mr Schmidt was appointed Chief Financial Officer on 1 January 2009 and joined the Board on 6 November 2009. Prior to this he was acting Chief Financial Officer from 1 May 2008 and Financial Controller from 1 April 2003. He has more than 14 years’ experience in the mining industry.

Independent non-executive directors

3. Alan J Wright (69)

Mr Wright was appointed the non-executive Chair of the Board on 17 November 2005 after serving as Deputy Chair since 1997. Mr Wright has worked for Gold Fields for over 40 years and was the Chief Executive Officer of Gold Fields of South Africa from 1995 to 1998. Mr Wright holds no other directorships.

4. Dr Mamphela Ramphele (62)
Deputy Chair
MBCHB, University of Natal; PhD in Social Anthropology, University of South Africa; Diploma in Tropical Health and Hygiene and a Diploma Public Health, University of the Witwatersrand

Dr Ramphele was appointed non-executive director and Deputy Chair of the Board of Gold Fields on 1 July 2010 and will be Chair of the Board with effect from 2 November 2010. She is the Executive Chair of Letsema Circle, a Cape Town-based specialist transformation advisory company and a director of Remgro, Anglo American plc and Medi-Clinic. She served as Managing Director of the World Bank from May 2000 to July 2004 with responsibility for human development activities and the World Bank Institute.

Dr Ramphele served as Co-Chair on the Global Commission for International Migration (GCIM) between 2004 and 2005. Prior to joining the bank, she was Vice-Chancellor of the University of Cape Town, a post she took up in 1996, having joined the university as a research fellow in 1986.

5. Kofi Ansah (66)
BSc (Mechanical Engineering) UST Ghana; MSc (Metallurgy) Georgia Institute of Technology

Mr Ansah was appointed a director of Gold Fields in April 2004. He is also a director of Ecobank Limited (Ghana).

6. Cheryl A Carolus (52)
BA Law; Bachelor of Education, University of the Western Cape

Ms Carolus was appointed a director of Gold Fields on 10 March 2009. She is Executive Chair of Peotona Group Holdings, an empowerment consortium, and also chairs the Board of SA Airways. She is a director of a number of other public and private companies, including the World Wildlife Fund. She served as South Africa’s High Commissioner to the United Kingdom from 1998 to 2001. Ms Carolus was the CEO of SA Tourism from 2001 to 2004 and Chair of the South African National Parks board for six years.

7. Roberto Dañino (59)
Master of Law (Harvard Law School); Pontificia Universidad Catolica del Peru

Mr Dañino has been a director of Gold Fields since 10 March 2009. A former Prime Minister of Peru and his country’s ambassador to the USA, he serves on various corporate and non-profit boards in Peru, Canada, the United Kingdom and the USA, including Gold Fields La Cima in Peru. Mr Dañino has practised for over 30 years as a partner of leading law firms in Lima and Washington DC and has extensive experience throughout Latin America. He is a graduate of Harvard Law School and the Pontificia Universidad Catolica del Peru. Mr Dañino was Senior Vice-President and General Counsel of the World Bank, as well as Secretary General of the International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes (ICSID).

8. Alan R Hill (67)
BSc (Hons), MPhil (Rock Mechanics), Leeds University

Mr Hill joined the Board on 21 August 2009. Until recently he served on the board of two mining companies, Gabriel Resources and Alamos Gold, of which he was Chair. After graduating, Mr Hill worked for a number of mining firms before joining Barrick Gold in 1984. He spent 19 years with Barrick and played a pivotal role in its various merger and acquisition initiatives. He retired from Barrick in 2003 as its Executive Vice-President: Development.

9. Richard P Menell (55)
BA (Hons), MA (Natural Sciences, Geology), Trinity College, Cambridge, UK; MSc (Mineral Exploration and Management), Stanford University, California

Mr Menell was appointed a director of Gold Fields on 8 October 2008. He has over 33 years’ experience in the mining industry, including as President of the Chamber of Mines of South Africa, President and Chief Executive Officer of Teal Exploration and Mining as well as Chair of Anglovaal Mining and Avgold. He is a director of Standard Bank Group amongst various other companies and non-profit organisations.

10. David N Murray (65)
BA Hons Econ, MBA, University of Cape Town

Mr Murray was appointed a director of Gold Fields on 1 January 2008. He has more than 36 years’ experience in the mining industry and has been Chief Executive Officer of Rio Tinto Portugal, Rio Tinto Brazil, TVX Gold Inc, Avgold and Avmin. He is also a non-executive director of Ivernia Inc.

11. Donald MJ Ncube (63)
BA Economics and Political Science, Fort Hare University; Postgraduate Diploma in Labour Relation, Strathclyde University, Scotland; Graduate MSc Manpower Studies, University of Manchester, UK; Diploma in Financial Management

Mr Ncube was appointed a director of Gold Fields on 15 February 2006. Previously, he was an alternate director of Anglo American Industrial Corporation and Anglo American Corporation, a director of AngloGold Ashanti as well as Non-Executive Chair of South African Airways. He is currently executive director of Cincinnati Mining, Chair of Rare Holdings and Badimo Gas and serves on the boards of various other companies.

12. Rupert L Pennant-Rea (62)
BA, Trinity College, Dublin; MA, University of Manchester

Mr Pennant-Rea has been a director of Gold Fields since 1 July 2002. He is Chair of Henderson Group Plc, The Economist Group and a director of First Quantum Minerals, Go-Ahead Group, Times Newspaper and various other companies. Previously Mr Pennant-Rea was Deputy Governor of the Bank of England.

13. Chris I von Christierson (62)
BCom, Rhodes; MA, Cambridge; OPM, Harvard

Mr von Christierson has been a director of Gold Fields since 10 May 1999. He is currently a director of Southern Prospecting (UK) and a non-executive director of Platmin. Formerly, he was Chair of Rio Narcea Gold Mines and Golden Shamrock Mines as well as Managing Director of East Daggafontein Mines and the Southern Prospecting group of companies.

14. Gayle M Wilson (65)
BCom, BCompt (Hons); CA(SA)

Mrs Wilson was appointed a director on 1 August 2008. She was previously an audit partner at Ernst & Young for 16 years where her main focus was on mining clients. She is a non-executive director of Witwatersrand Consolidated Gold Resources.